Okay, so I admit. I’m a bit of a snob in ways you’ve picked up on in my previous blogs and I always have low expectations of visiting ANYWHERE in the United States.

Let’s be honest though, New York City is hard to beat, even spending many years in London I still love the energy of this international hub and in many ratings it beats out our beloved London.

NYC-New-York-City-A-World-to-Travel-Valentines-Day-ideas-best-cities-to-wake-up-in-on-February-14th-800x600So you may be thinking at this point that my trip was to New York City, WRONG! I always try to come through New York and if you are coming from anywhere in Europe your likely going to breeze through there.

This trip, I went inland.  And I was scared, very scared.  Listen, all big cities are easy to navigate, culturally friendly, and despite the scary open cary gun nuts in the US I somehow feel safe in huge cities…..but get me out into the rural areas on roads that I’ve only seen in movies, my heart starts beating fast.

My aunt married an American and they live somewhere close to Route 66.  All I knew was this was in the middle and a great song by Depeche Mode.  It turns out that this was a pretty cool route with some history!

images

“Route 66 (aka US 66) was a historic highway in the United States extending from Chicago to Los Angeles. It crossed much of the American Midwest, Great Plains, and Southwest. Although US Highway 66 no longer exists, you can still “get your kicks” on the path it took through the United States on other highways and roads.”

This trip taught me more than one blog can express. I hope to do many follow ups about what I learned from the real American culture that is as charming as it is in most movies.  If you find yourself in the US and wanting to see things by car, you should definitely explore the historic Route 66 for yourself and  see if you change your perceptions of rural America just as I did.

