Continuing the theme of big cities in this blog I’m going to write about another one today. Readers will note however a marked difference in this city – one of these things is not like the others. For this trip I decided to spread my wings and fly even further afield to Asia, specifically Malaysia. I wanted somewhere with all the amenities and creature comforts a lady like me has come to find essential in life. I also wanted somewhere totally unique and different to immerse myself in. The capital city of Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, proved to be the perfect place for it.

The majority of the country’s population is Muslim but there are also hefty populations of both Chinese and Indians living there. The result is an incredibly juxtaposition of cultures and cuisines – one which I’ve never seen before in all of my travels. Wander down one street and find yourself listening to blaring Bollywood anthems, looking at colourful sarongs and smelly delicious curry spices, round the corner and you’re looking at signs signaling shark-fin soup, the dense restaurants and kopitiams (coffee shops) packed with elderly Chinese men gossiping and swigging sweet coffee with cream. It’s an incredible place to simply wander and watch life.

I spent a few weeks immersing myself and touring the many sights ranging from the iconic Petronas tower which dominate the skyline, to the Batu Caves – a holy Indian temple inside a mountain, guarded by a huge statue of Lord Murugan. The latter of these is popular with rock climbers so I took the opportunity to get out of my comfort zone and try something new – I was not disappointed.

For those interested in checking out this amazing city, watch the attached video to get some ideas on what to do there.

 

