So I recently spent time in New York City. This is my favourite place in the world. How can it not be when they are a city that lives off coffee and eats things such as ice cream stuffed donuts and crack pie (not crack btw its actually almost pure sugar and cream but my god it’s the most amazing thing I have eaten- check it out here if you visit Moofuku Milk Bar)

This really is a foodie heaven. You can really literally get anything- Ramen Noodle Burgers, some of the best pizza outside of Italy and possibly the best rice pudding I have ever tasted in every flavor imaginable at Rice to Riches in soho.

So as you can see I am quite the fan and have visited many times and tried a lot. I have stayed in accommodation of every kind- from the swanky Waldorf to couch surfing (yes literally sleeping on strangers sofas) to living the sex and the city dream with my own private apartment sub let in West Village. I can honestly say that my best experiences came from couch surfing- the cheapest (as its free) and most exciting. You stay with a local who shows you around and you end up in areas off the beaten tourist trap. Most importantly for me- you make friends that stay friends.

So this year my visit was to an old friend I met couch surfing years ago. She lives in China Town – which is bonkers- the markets and shops are filled with vegetables and meat and sweets that are literally alien to me. Its like a culture shock without having to actually visit the country- perfect for me!

Dominque Bakery in Soho. They https://triedandtestedtraveller.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/2014-03-25-10-39-02.jpghave patented the recipe and so it’s the only place in the world to get one. The demand is so high and they are so exclusive that the queues start at 5am and they sell out by 7.30am.

However, this time I was on a mission. I wanted a cronut. Now for those who don’t know what a cronut is- it’s a hybrid of a croissant and a donought invented by the patisserie chef at the Dominque Bakery in Soho. They have patented the recipe and so it’s the only place in the world to get one. The demand is so high and they are so exclusive that the queues start at 5am and they sell out by 7.30am.

Sadly I arrived too late and I missed my Cronut experience. But at least I knew the score. I picked a perfectly beautiful alternative pastry and sat down to enjoy the indulgence when the door swung open and a brash loud man entered with his two kids.

He literally bellowed ‘We made it- home of the cronut baby!’

Of course the rest of the café knew there were no cornuts left. So we waited to watch this obnoxious man be humbled by the dainty looking shop girl.

He slapped hid dollars on the counter, demanding three cronuts be served immediately- when she politely informed him they had sold out and that they do actually sell out everyday – he literally went the colour of a beetroot. He shouted at her that they should simply bake more and in a fit of rage exited the café with his kids as he cursed the very concept of the cronut.

 

The rest of us went back to our perfect pastries and thought, well we didn’t get a cronut but at least we aren’t that guy!

2014-03-25 10.39.02

 

 

